Larry Lake

DR. LARRY W. LAKE is a professor and Interim Chair in the Department of Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin. He frequently conducts industrial and professional society short courses in enhanced oil recovery and reservoir characterization. He is the author or coauthor of more than 100 technical papers, four textbooks and the editor of three bound volumes. Previously, he worked for Shell Development Company in Houston, Texas and was chairman of the department from 1989 to 1997. Formerly, he held the Shell Distinguished Chair and the W.A. (Tex) Moncrief, Jr. Centennial Endowed Chair in Petroleum Engineering. Currently, he holds the W.A. (Monty) Moncrief Centennial Chair in Petroleum Engineering. He has served on the Board of Directors for the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), as well as on several of its committees. He has received many awards/recognitions including: the 1996 Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal of the AIME, the Degoyer Distinguished Service Award in 2002, the 1999-2000 Billy and Claude R. Hocott Distinguished Research Award and The University of Texas and the SPE/DOE Symposium IOR Pioneer Award in 2000. He received the SPE distinguished Service award in 2000, was named an SPE Honorary Member in 2006 and has twice been an SPE distinguished lecturer. In 2001, was chosen as a member of the Texas Society of Professional Engineers Dream Team. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineers, and received a BSE and PhD degrees in Chemical Engineering from Arizona State University and Rice University, respectively.